Interest Groups of the IP Section

The  interest  groups of the IP Section are open to any Section members interested in participating.  The groups have regular meetings open to all members of the IP Section. The groups also put on educational programs, host networking events, and alert members to hot topics and law updates. Each  group  is dedicated to building community among the practitioners of that IP practice area. 

Announcements of meetings, CLE programs, networking events, and other  interest group  activities are regularly announced in  Inevitable Disclosures , the Section's electronic newsletter, which is sent to all members of the Section.  Group  members are also encouraged to sign up for group-specific communications by updating their State Bar profile to include the email list for that  interest group.  See Change My Email Address and List Subscriptions.

Want to contact a  group ? Have questions? Below are links to the officers who lead the various interest  groups. We welcome your participation in one or many of our  interest  groups! The Section, and its groups, are here for you.

Contact the Interest Group


Chair: Teri Karobonik, Saratoga
Vice-Chair: Angus MacDonald, Oakland

Entertainment & Sports

Chair: Sean M. Sullivan, Los Angeles
Vice Chair: David Murphy, San Francisco

In-House Counsel

Chair: Mark R. Leonard, Fairfield
Vice Chair: Sophie Cohen, San Francisco

Inevitable Disclosures

Editor-in-Chief: Barbara L. Friedman, San Francisco
Associate Editor: Matthew Neco, Santa Monica

International Law

Chair: Rebecca Chen, Palo Alto
Vice Chair: David Tseng, Seattle WA


Chair: D. Benjamin Borson, Lafayette
Vice Chair: Mark R. Leonard, Fairfield


Chair: John Pavolotsky, Santa Clara
Vice Chair: Sean Hogle, San Rafael


Chair: Anne-Marie Dao, Redwood Shores
Vice Chair: Kieran De Terra, San Diego

New Matter

Editor: Thomas A. Ward, Moraga
Editor: Amanda Nye, Tiburon


Chair: Sanjesh Sharma, Santa Ana
Vice Chair: Thomas A. Ward, Moraga

Technology, Internet, and Privacy Law

Chair: Bennet Kelley, Santa Monica
Vice Chair: Heather Antoine, Beverly Hills


Chair: Carole F. Barrett, San Francisco
Vice Chair: Mary Harris, San Luis Obispo

Trade Secrets

Chair: Angelique Kaounis, Los Angeles
Vice Chair: Robert Milligan, Los Angeles